Testimonials & Reviews

4.64/5
Vijay R. Karia, MD -  - Rheumatologist

Integrative Rheumatology of Texas

Vijay R. Karia, MD

Rheumatologist located in Houston, TX

33 total reviews

Dr. Vijay R. Karia always appreciates feedback from his valued patients. To date, we’re thrilled to have collected 33 reviews with an average rating of 4.64 out of 5 stars. Please read what others are saying about Dr. Vijay Karia below, and as always, we would love to collect your feedback.

Teri V.
Submitted 08/21/19
This was my first visit with Dr. Karina for Fibromyalgia & Chronic Fatigue. I've had visits with many doctors for these syndromes over the past 20 years & I can honestly say that he is the only one who has read my file before seeing me! He also took the time to listen & didn't run me through there like a cattle auction. Needless to say, I was impressed with my first visit!
Nicole A.
Submitted 08/05/19
Very caring and attentive!
Victoria B.
Submitted 04/15/19
Dr. Karia was very nice and he saw me promptly. I didn't have to wait very long and he was very thorough with my appointment
Sandy B.
Submitted 04/12/19
I love Dr K. He listens to me and respects my opinion and feedback.
Melissa F.
Submitted 04/10/19
Receptionist was excellent, I scheduled an appointment on line, & she promptly called me back to confirm. The communication was great. Dr. Karia took the time to answer all my questions related to managing my fibromyalgia. It was an excellent experience !!!! I look forward to working with their team.
James C.
Submitted 03/22/19
Seems to be a good DR
Chris F.
Submitted 03/16/19
Great Doctor
Janet D.
Submitted 03/13/19
So easy, thank you for that.
Aisha B.
Submitted 03/07/19
I was not satisfied with the visit at all provided I was complaining about my legs hurting and high blood pressure and there was not even a blood pressure machine on hand to check BP for a new patient....Wow! That did not make a good impression at all plus I was told that the doctor would be requesting some blood work via Quest and they would contact me and I have not heard back from anyone yet a week later. Yes, I waited at least a week to post this review to see if someone would contact me or follow up, but no one has, just as I suspected. I ended up going to the ER the next day because I was feeling worse and have taken my business elsewhere. If you want to do the right thing or at least make it somewhat right, you should refund my money for this office visit because there was no service provided at all for a new patient and please at least buy a BP machine! Thank you and have a blessed day!
Sara V.
Submitted 02/01/19
Attentive and took lots of notes. Was impressed with his interest to hear about everything going on before diagnosing the issue.
Lee B.
Submitted 12/24/18
Overall, the initial impression of the office was disappointing. The first question I got asked when I called to schedule the appointment was, "What insurance do you have?" When I showed up there are errors on the medical form (I am a stickler about that) and the paper on the exam table had previously been sat upon...yuck! The exam went okay and he went through all the steps, asked plenty of questions, but not once did Dr. Karia ask what level of pain I was currently in. He did not explain what medicines he was prescribing besides steroids. He did not suggest to get blood work or X-rays to see what was going on. After leaving there, I went to pick up my prescriptions from the pharmacy and my pharmacist wouldn't let me pick up half of them until I got verbal confirmation as to WHY the doctor prescribed them. The pharmacist said the labels were unclear and it looked like I was supposed to take 90mg of a drug that has had severe suicidal / psychotic thoughts for people in my family that have taken it. If Dr. Karia had mentioned this drug in our visit I would have said no. I called the doctor 6 times over the course of a week and a half and left 5 voice mails trying to get answers. The receptionist / nurse called back after the second message but couldn't explain why he prescribed them...which meant I had to wait until Dr. Karia called me back, which he never did. I finally got him on the phone the second week. My problem is this, had the pharmacist not seen those drugs and let me take them home to start treatment, I would have followed the poor instructions and taken 90mg of the suicidal thought medicine along with an anti-depressant / anti-anxiety (which I do not have) which was perscribed to help me sleep. I have a problem with that maybe once a week during the school year due to stress. I am like any other teacher out there, I don't need medications for it, I need tea. Again, if he mentioned this medicine, I would have said no. Communication with the patient is key, and he missed that step of the exam process. I hope I am a a single and rare case for this doctor, because if not, I fear for the safety of his patients. If you are looking for a doctor that will push pills towards you and you have very limited medical knowledge, then he is fine. However, I suggest you trust your instincts like I wish I had trusted mine. I knew the minute I walked in there I should have cancelled the appointment and walked out.
Dora G.
Submitted 08/22/18
Unlike any other doctor he actually stopped and listened to my experiences and symptoms dealing with my illness. I will highly recommend this doctor to my loved ones.
Gina K.
Submitted 06/27/18
Nice staff. No wait time. Caring doctor.
Mary J R.
Submitted 06/19/18
The office visit goes well. However, I tried calling to have a prescription refilled and there is NO REPLY.
Beverly H.
Submitted 06/01/18
Very attentive,caring, listens
Julie F.
Submitted 05/07/18
Dr. Karia was very attentive and listened to my entire complicated medical history. He gave suggestions that would be very helpful for my situation. He was very kind, with a good bedside manner. I was very impressed with Dr. Karia.
Monica C.
Submitted 02/24/18
Good
Ahmed A.
Submitted 02/16/18
I had only one visit with Dr. Karia. I left with a positive preliminary impression. The treatment however is not completed yet.
Carmelita G.
Submitted 02/12/18
Doctor Karia made me feel comfortable, very caring!
Teresa P.
Submitted 02/09/18
Dr. listened to my concerns and provided a testament plan. I was very satisfied with my visit. I had to wait awhile but I figured it's because he's not there every day.
What we offer

Services

Insurance Information

Please call the office for questions regarding insurance.

Aetna
Blue Cross Blue Shield of Texas
Cigna
Humana
Medicare
MultiPlan / PHCS
Tricare
United Healthcare